Friday, August 15, 2014

Kylie Minogue First Four PWL Releases Expanded Deluxe Editions Coming

 Worldwide reissue of her earliest albums for first time since original release

- 6x platinum ‘Kylie’, 4x platinum ‘Enjoy Yourself’, ‘Rhythm Of Love’ and ‘Let’s Get To It’ released October

- Available in Special, Deluxe and Collector’s editions

PWL and Cherry Red Records are to reissue the first four albums by the undisputed princess of pop – Kylie Minogue.

Marking the first time these classic albums have been back in print since their initial release, and with each digitally remastered from the original studio tapes, ‘Kylie’ (1988), ‘Enjoy Yourself’ (‘89), ‘Rhythm of Love’ (‘90) and ‘Let’s Get To It’ (‘91) will be reissued on 27th October.

Certified six times platinum in the UK, and the biggest-selling debut ever at the time, 1988’s ‘Kylie’includes favourites "I Should Be So Lucky" (UK #1) and "The Loco-Motion" (UK#2, US #3). Four times platinum chart topper ‘Enjoy Yourself’ (1989)continues the run of hits with "Hand On Your Heart" (UK #1) and "Tears On My Pillow" (UK #1). Hitting the UK top ten on release, ‘Rhythm Of Love’(1990) features "Better The Devil You Know" (UK #2) and "Step Back In Time" (UK #4), whilst Kylie's final album for PWL, 1991’s‘Let’s Get To It’, includes "Give Me Just A Little More Time" (UK #2), and the self-penned duet with Keith Washington, "If You Were With Me Now" (UK #4).

The reissues include a slew of bonus tracks, B-sides and remixes such as "Especially For You", Kylie’s platinum-selling #1 duet with Jason Donovan, and the original 1987 version of "Locomotion" (Kylie's Australian debut single prior to signing with PWL). (Full details below).

Expanded versions of each album will be available in three editions: Special Edition (unique picture CD artwork and a 24-page booklet containing full lyrics, new sleeve notes and classic images), Deluxe Edition (specially presented 2CD and DVD set including rare tracks, remixes and promo videos)and Collector's Edition (limited pressing boxset featuring picture disc LP, 2CD and DVD set, and other memorabilia). (Full details below).

All four albums will be made available worldwide, with pre-orders starting from 3pm on Friday 15th August. This follows an online teaser campaign around the hashtag #stepbackintime that has been building momentum over the last week.

Pete Waterman noted: "Kylie celebrated 25 years in music a couple of years back, so I went along to see her Anti Tour and to say hello. It was a fantastic night, and hearing her do some of these songs then, tracks she probably hadn't sung since she was signed to PWL, was magical. It was obvious just how special they are - for Kylie herself, for all of us worked on them, and for the fans in particular, and more so with time. They've become genuine classics.

Back then, we were making music for the moment, but it's stood the test of time. That's something special. And that's why we're celebrating with these very special releases. I now know what history means"

Cherry Red MD Adam Velasco said of the campaign: "Kylie is a truly iconic artist with fans throughout the world, so we’re delighted to be working with PWL to bring them her early material as they’ve never heard it before. These very special editions showcase a wealth of hits from her career, together with numerous bonus tracks and mixes that were not originally available.”

‘Kylie’was originally released in July 1988 and went a record-breaking six times platinum in the UK - then the biggest-selling debut album ever. Produced by the legendary Stock Aitken Waterman team, the album features the classic hits "I Should Be So Lucky" (UK #1), "Got To Be Certain" (UK #2), "The Loco-Motion" (UK#2, US #3) and "Je Ne Sais Pas Pourquoi" (UK #2). The special reissue includes the original 1987 version of "Locomotion" (Kylie's Australian debut single prior to signing with PWL), "Made In Heaven", recorded as the double A-side for "Je Ne Sais Pas Pourquoi", plus six essential 12" mixes. 

‘Enjoy Yourself’was originally released in October 1989 and found Kylie consolidating the phenomenal international success of her partnership with PWL and the Stock Aitken Waterman team. Going four times platinum, the album gave Kylie a second chart-topping LP and continued her uninterrupted run of hits with "Hand On Your Heart" (UK #1), "Wouldn't Change A Thing" (UK #2), "Never Too Late" (UK #4) and "Tears On My Pillow" (UK #1). The special reissue boasts nine bonus tracks, including the unforgettable UK #1 duet with Jason Donovan, "Especially For You", which originally only appeared on the US edition of the album, plus sought-after B-sides and essential 12" mixes of all the singles.

‘Rhythm Of Lovewas originally released in November 1990 and has long been seen as marking Kylie's coming of age as an artist - both visually and musically. As well as songwriting herself for the first time with US collaborators such as Stephen Bray and Michael Jay, Kylie recorded seven classic tracks at PWL with Stock Aitken Waterman, including a legendary run of signature singles: "Better The Devil You Know" (UK #2), "Step Back In Time" (UK #4), "What Do I Have To Do?" (UK #6) and "Shocked" (UK #6). The special reissue features five bonus tracks - the essential 12" mixes of all four singles plus the original March 1990 mix of the fan favourite "Things Can Only Get Better". 

Let’s Get To It’was Kylie's final album for PWL, originally released in October 1991 to rave reviews. Produced by Stock & Waterman, it found Kylie exploring the diverse grooves of the early 90s, from New Jack Swing and R&B to house and techno. It features the hits "Word Is Out" (UK #16), "Give Me Just A Little More Time" (UK #2), the classic "Finer Feelings" (UK #11), and the self-penned duet with Keith Washington, "If You Were With Me Now" (UK #4). The special reissue includes eight bonus tracks: "Keep On Pumpin' It", Kylie's classic underground club collaboration with Visionmasters & Tony King, plus B-sides and essential 12" mixes.

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...